Beginner / Newbie looking for advice on how to start learning Linux

I am an IT Professional and web developer that has worked primarily in a Windows environment with little to no experience with Linux. I have always heard that Linux was a robust and stable operating system that could be run on older PC equipment as a server or even desktop machine. My goal is to setup a Linux box as both a web server (Apache, PHP, and MySQL) and email server (similar to exchange) and also setup an older laptop for normal desktop use.

After doing some internet searching and reading various articles about the different Linux distros I have elected to use Debian v7 (Wheezy), but I need some advice from the Linux community on how to get started learning Linux (tutorials, forums, mailing list, books, etc.) and if my choice of Linux distros will accomplish what I am trying to do.

Thank you in advance.

Hi jjbecker98,

Your question should be divided into multiple parts as there is a lot of topics to be covered.

Firstly, as it is the case with everything else, with determination you can learn anything and in this perspective Linux is not different. In my opinion the best way to learn Linux is to simply use it. There is a plethora of resources available free of charge on the net, hundreds of communities and Linux user groups you can visit either personally or online.

Choice of Linux distribution:

There is no bad distribution as the choice is really only a matter of personal taste. Most of the new Linux users choose Ubuntu or Linux Mint as they fell that it is easier to use and more up to date.

For me however, Debian GNU/Linux is also a Linux distribution choice for everything. I run Debian on servers, laptops, gaming desktop, Raspberry Pi etc. Debian has a great documentation a community.