Fresh Install with VmWare

Hello All,
I am brand new to Ubuntu Desktop and Vmware.
Nonetheless, after a long day, managed to get them installed and functional.

The final step was to install Guest Additions from VMware.
I was able install, mount cd, decompress and navigate via terminal to the proper path.

When I try to do the Sudo command to install the Guest Additions, Sudo
asks for my password.

Everything I read says 1) I shouldn’t need to create a root anything
and 2) That the password is whatever my User Login Password is.

Except it won’t take it. I type it it and hit enter and it basically says “Try again”
and then I put it in twice more and it never will accept it.

Why on Earth, if Ubuntu does not need to do anything to use Sudo, does my password simply not work?

I created ONE user / One Password…all with the defaults.

If Sudo is so important, why can’t I enter my Password and install what I am trying to Install.

All over the Web it says “You don’t need root access to run Sudo…and you don’t need a special password…you use your user password.”

So, why doesn’t it work as it is purported to?

The workarounds of creating a root user or forcing root access are in direct contravention to the design by default which says it is not required to use Sudo!

Except it won’t take the password. I only have one. It isn’t hard. It is typed in properly, etc.

Ugghhhh…

16 hours first day Linux Battle…Started with VirtualBox…moved onto Vmware…several distro’s later and I’m almost out the Linux door forever.

Anyway…if someone has a simple explanation as to why Ubuntu Desktop 18.X.X will not allow me to enter the only password I’ve established when using Sudo, I would be thrilled,…and reinstall everything I deleted in frustration!

Thank you!

:wink:

MD

These are the instructions I am trying to follow:

https://kb.vmware.com/s/article/1022525

I think the problem is, the User that is created by default is not an Administrator or have Root Priveledges???