Programming Noob Question

Hi!

I’ve been using Linux in a kind of fun, exploratory way for over 10 years, primarily Ubuntu and other Debian systems. However, there is one thing keeping it from being my daily driver, which I am seriously thinking about making it as Windows and Mac both continue to take more and more rights away while charging more and more.

It’s a small, weird thing. I need a way to easily input special keys without using multiple combinations. Something like what comes built-in in MacOS or the program Holdkey in Windows - where if you hold any key down for a certain amount of time, it pops up with other similar, less common characters for you to select.

I’m willing to code this myself (I’m guessing it would have to be in C++), but I don’t even know where to begin (I’ve created some web-apps with PHP/MySQL). I need it to be able to run in the background and work on any program I have open where I input text. Can someone direct me to some resources and tell me even just the name of the “type” of program this would be so that I can begin teaching myself how to code something like this?

Thanks!

I believe that I am an advanced user, and I definitely know that I’m not a programmer. Yet, I decided to comment here because what folows may be useful (hopefully).

On Linux, if you hold CtrlShiftU, then release these keys, type the four-digit unicode of the desired character and then either press Space or Enter (on Macs: return), you get such character.

E.g. if you hold CtrlShiftU, then release these keys, type 00BA and then either press Space or Enter (on Macs: return), you get the º character.

Most Linux programmers use Python as their preferred language, specially if they want to create snippets and other tiny utilities that run along with the Linux distro’s GUI to improve the user’s experience. If you run a command such as:

find . -type f -name \*.py

…you are likely going to find a lot of Python scripts in your Linux distro.